“Man Down!” The call to man up.

I only managed to catch the last twenty minutes of the new series of “Our War” on BBC3, but that twenty minutes was packed with more emotion than most feature length films. To watch the extraordinary lengths soldiers will go to, to save the life of another soldier. I recommend anyone watch it on BBC iplayer or the next episode is next week. Luckily I caught it replayed later on and it was gripping viewing. You see how soldiers will go above and beyond the call of duty for their mates and not hesitate to put themselves in harm’s way.

For example, flying a Chinook helicopter in zero visibility, following an apache using Infra-red cameras to guide the way, in a sandstorm to pick up a wounded soldier who had stepped on an IED. Where most pilots would have refused to fly, these pilots didn’t because they knew that they were his only hope of survival. They managed to evacuate Captain Griffiths back to Camp Bastion and then back to Birmingham where he was with his family and they could speak to him. Unfortunately Captain Griffiths died twelve days later from his wounds, but his parents couldn’t express their gratitude enough to the men and women who helped to evacuate him so they could have those twelve days with him.

Amazing program, kind of puts my problems in perspective. I’ve got a new date for my operation, the 31st of August. It’s starting to all get very real and soon again. Although I do have to go in 2 days before and have an echocardiogram, which is basically and ultrasound of my heart due to the fact my resting heart rate is 110. Now I assume they would only cancel my op if there was something like a massive gaping hole in my heart, which let’s face it, I probably wouldn’t be sitting here now if that was the case. So yes life changing operation soon, scary times. I’m sure they won’t cancel it again, if they do I will kick off majorly and I’m normally very laid back when it comes to fuck ups, especially in the NHS but to cancel it twice would take the piss a little.

All I am doing at the moment is concentrating on what I am going to be able to do after this op and just ignoring all the shit bits I’m going have to deal with on the way i.e. a tube up the cock, (can you tell that one realllly bothers me?) because when I come out the other side life is going to be fucking mint. I am going to do loads of shit I haven’t been able to do for years like get a proper fucking job, get on a tube, go camping, all sorts. Simple things I used to take for granted. A good friend of mine has decided that he’s going to sign me up for a tough mudder in janurary, have a google, it’s like a 10km obstacle course on steroids with horrendous obstacles ranging from underwater tunnels to running through some form of electrified corridor. So I have an actual target to aim at being fit for. Well we shall see how it goes, let’s get the op out the way first eh.

5 thoughts on ““Man Down!” The call to man up.

  1. So proud of you! It can only get better! πŸ™‚
    P.S. You’re doing a skydive with me next year to raise money for the Colorectal Research Fund. Thought you should know πŸ˜€

  2. Hastie. The Captain, Martin Bowden Williams who had to direct the guys from a distance away, and who’s best friend Cptn Griffiths died, is my sister’s son!My nephew. I found the whole thing so emotional and deeply upsetting, especially his Dad the Brigadier and his difficulty in speaking due to tears….had me in floods just watching it.

  3. Just found your Blog via B3TA QOTW, so thought I’d pop over and have a look. Thanks for the tip over Our War, I’ve just got LoveFilm on a cheap deal and Our War is on it….so I’ve got it on my Watchlist. Thanks for the tip.
    Re the blog, good read. Just going to catch up on the rest of it, a good way of spending a lazy afternoon recovering from a hangover.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.