Religious Ponderings

I have been pondering life lately, quite deeply and how unfair and unjust it seems to be.

I promise all of you, when I do die, if and when I meet the powers that be, I am going to knock the cunts out. There is no reason that any person, young, old, male or female should have to go through what any of us have been through, are going through or are going to go through. I have never been a particularly religious person. I went to church as a kid even though in hindsight my parents aren’t religious really, it was more just to get me into the local good church of England school. In fact I find it particularly hilarious how my dad must have begrudgingly dragged himself out of bed early on a Sunday morning probably hung over to go and listen to what must have amounted to an hour of crap in his eyes. I like to believe in the idea of some kind of higher power but I just think there are too many things that don’t make sense about the ideas of most organised religions.

For example take Christianity. God supposedly created me in his image, so in saying that, how can I be more forgiving than god? So if we go by religion, If I sin, I am going to hell FOREVER, but if I had a son for example and he does something bad I punish him until he has learnt his lesson, I don’t chain him up in the basement and torture him for the rest of his days, it makes the idea of hell redundant surely? And that fact that you look at how many times the bible has been translated through different languages across different generations there must be errors and if you look at the fact the some books of the bible were just left out because early popes didn’t like their content. The new testament was passed over orally for hundreds of years before it was written down and a lot of it was other peoples accounts. I mean come on, you must have played Chinese whispers and seen how the end turns out very different to the beginning.

Now I’m not knocking peoples decisions to be religious or not. That’s the path they’ve chosen, I’ve just gone down a different one. Another factor is I just cannot fathom how so many good people have to go through so much shit, and scum get all the breaks. I’m a bit of a believer in karma though so really I am due a big euro millions win soon, either that or I was a total cunt and secret mass murderer as a child. I’ve seen good, hard working people go through a lot of shit and I can’t think of a good reason for it other than life is just ballbag then you die. Ah well, it’s all about playing the hand your dealt and making the best of it while you have it because you never know when you are going to have the rug pulled clean from under your feet and suddenly wish you could live your life over again.

“So live your life so the fear of death can never enter your heart. Trouble no one about their religion; respect others in their views, and demand that they respect yours. Love your life, perfect your life, beautify all things in your life. Seek to make your life long and of service to your people. Prepare a noble death song for the day when you go over the great divide. Always give a word or sign of salute when meeting or passing a stranger if in a lonely place. Show respect to all people, but grovel to none. When you arise in the morning, give thanks for the light, for your life and strength. Give thanks for your food and for the joy of living. If you see no reason for giving thanks, the fault lies in yourself. Touch not the poisonous firewater that makes wise ones turn to fools and robs them of their visions. When your time comes to die, be not like those whose hearts are filled with fear of death, so that when their time comes they weep and pray for a little more time to live their lives over again in a different way. Sing your death song, and die like a hero going home.”

If only people could live their lives by the above quote, then we would all be fine. We’ll we may have to scrap the no alcohol bit though 😛

4 thoughts on “Religious Ponderings

  1. Hey, it’s like you had something else going on in Eternity?

    The official versions of ‘Christianity’ get pretty weird, but Jesus was saying the straight poop. We’ve got 2000 years of cultural drift that keeps us from understanding the context.

    If you want to know why people are so mixed up about religion… Well, it’s not easy making a human. Especially growing a bunch of wild humans from scratch, letting them bounce off each other, trying to teach them that [as Stephen Gaskin put it]: “The operation of the law of karma is like taking a full swing at a golf ball in a small, tile bathroom.”

    Constraints on human-making? —

    http://www.mit.edu/people/dpolicar/writing/prose/text/godTaoist.html

  2. Loving your blog Hastie, keep em coming, can’t wait to read your book.xxx ps I love you heaps and heaps. Pps I remember you ringing me up one night to say you had been reading the bible and it did not make any sense. You were about 12 at the time, it’s fuly of fantasy but there are some interesting bit, take what you can from it and dump the rest. Be great to see you soon.xxxx

  3. Hastie, your blog is a true reflection of how you are feeling, keep on it, its an excellent portrayal of what a 24 year old has to deal with in this already difficult world, come on – next one must be due – try to write when your happy and amusing and not just pissed off x x x

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.